The Lavender Haze

The Lavender Haze: Three Stories of Flirting with an Affair is now available. It is currently on sale at Amazon, Smashwords, Apple’s iBooks and Barnes & Noble.

Book Description: In the title story of The Lavender Haze: Three Stories of Flirting with an Affair, Micheal comes home to find Kelly, his wife’s best friend, has come for a visit. Through the evening, we learn that he and Kelly had a brief affair before the wedding that, to Michael’s surprise, still lingers.
In our second story, Lost to the Lake, Ray is going through a life crisis that he can’t shake. When he returns to work from a vacation that wasn’t as restorative as he hoped, he sees Regina, a new employee, and experiences a lovesickness he’s never known. He finds himself caught between the allure of love at first sight and his established life with his family.
On the Terrace, the final story, offers a window to a tantalizing conversation between a poet and his muse after she confronts him one morning.

Posted in books, ebooks | Comments Off

Music Only We Know

Music Only We Know: Collected Love Poems of Paul Hina 2013-2016 is now available. It is currently on sale at AmazonSmashwords, Apple’s iBooks and Barnes & Noble.

Book Description: Music Only We Know is Paul Hina’s fourth installment in his continuing Collected Love Poems series. In his follow-up to 2015′s Origami Moonlight, Hina uses his unique, impressionistic voice to take the reader on his journey to harness the whimsy, joy and frustration of man’s desire.

Posted in books | Tagged | Comments Off

The Other Shore

The Other Shore: Two Stories of Love and Death is now available. It is currently on sale at AmazonSmashwords, and Apple’s iBooks. Update(3/31/16): Now Available at Barnes & Noble.

Book Description: In The Other Shore, Simon’s life isn’t what he hoped it would be. And when he learns that his father is dying, he returns to his hometown for goodbyes. Though he has been estranged from his father since his mother’s untimely death six years ago, Simon rediscovers the power of parental influence. This leads him to some uncomfortable truths he’s spent years avoiding, but also leads him to Laura, who gives him hope for a future less damaged by the past.

In From the Boathouse, John, an aged man suffering from dementia, struggles to keep hold of his most precious memories—particularly how he met his wife—before they all slip away.

Posted in books | Tagged | Comments Off

Origami Moonlight

Origami Moonlight is the third installment of my continuing Collected Poems series. In this follow-up to Such Deliberate Loveliness (2007) and Of Wanting and Rain(2011), I’ve tried to use unique, whimsical language to create an impressionistic, labyrinthine landscape of man’s desire.

Currently available at Amazon, Smashwords, Barnes and Noble and Apple’s iBooks.

Posted in books | Tagged | Comments Off

Double Play

Double Play, my eighth novel, is now available. It is currently on sale at Amazon, Smashwords(download a free copy by using the coupon code NQ78A by 5/18/14), and Apple’s iBooks. Like my other recent titles, it is $1.99.

Book Description: After Brett Lattimore, a hot baseball prospect, and his wife are killed in a car crash, an attorney hires investigator Clay Hart to look into the accident. The attorney believes he’s seen Brett’s wife, Emma, alive and well, since the accident. And, though she may be missing, that doesn’t mean she’s dead. But the sheriff’s department has closed the case and believes the accident, though fatal, was routine.
As Clay tries to figure out what happened that night, he discovers that Emma isn’t the only one who might be hiding something. Brett was mixed up with Ramsey, a notorious local gambler who runs underground card games. And, when Ramsey gets wind that Clay is poking around and asking questions about the accident, he quickly lets Clay know that he should move on to other business.

Posted in books | Tagged | Comments Off

Let It Snow

Let it Snow, my seventh novel, was published last October. It is on sale at Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Apple’s iBookstore, Smashwords, and other online retailers of ebooks. Like my other recent titles, it is $1.99.

Book Description: Annie and Eric are hosting a dinner party. Annie is edgy, having spent days obsessing over the fact that her old lover, Max, is in town for the holidays. And when Eric tells her he’s invited Max, who’s also Eric’s brother, Annie is mortified. It’s been years since she’s seen Max, and their relationship had a peculiar end that left Annie feeling jilted.

Meanwhile, the dinner party was originally planned to fix up their friends Michael and Holly. Michael has been pining after Holly, but she has been emotionally unavailable. Holly’s husband died years ago, and, though she’s fond of Michael, she’s unsure she’ll ever love again. Annie and Eric hoped getting them together over dinner, among friends, might help Holly warm to Michael. But when Holly arrives with a date, Michael’s feeling humiliated, and Eric and Annie are wondering if their party is doomed before it even begins.

Twitter Length Description: One dinner party. Two love triangles. What could go wrong?


Posted in books | Tagged | Comments Off